Daily Photo / Holiday / Recipes

Recipe: Red velvet whoopie pies

Red velvet whoopie pies

Red velvet whoopie pies with cream cheese frosting.

Merry Christmas! My brother is home for the holidays after his first semester away at college. One thing he told me he was sad he missed? Aside from my mom’s turkey at Thanksgiving, it was my pumpkin whoopie pies.

To make up for it, I made a batch of red velvet whoopie pies to take home to my parents’ house this Christmas. Whoopie pies can be as simple as baking cake mix in drops in a cake pan with store bought frosting, or as complicated as whipping up your own batch of frosting along with your own secret batter recipe.

Since the month of December has been the busiest month of my year so far, I opted for the easy way — some cake mix and store bought frosting. They still turn out delicious. They only drawback to store bought frosting: it’s not the perfect consistency to smear on your pies. You need to let it sit and thaw a little.

For red velvet cake made easy I have six words: Duncan Hines limited edition Christmas Velvets. You can make red velvet pies, or even green ones too! The box includes both red and green cake mix.

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Add ingredients based on the instructions on the Ducan Hines Christmas velvets box (or your own red velvet recipe)
  3. Place batter in a baking sheet by the large tsp
  4. Bake for about 13 minutes
Red velvet pies fresh out of the oven!

Red velvet pies fresh out of the oven!

Once your little pies are cool, all you have to do is frost them! I have a recipe for homemade cream cheese frosting here, or you can use store bought. I also added sprinkles for an extra Christmas touch.

I served these at my annual Christmas party with friends and they couldn’t stop eating them! I can’t wait for my family to try. I hope you and your families have a very Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year!

 

One thought on “Recipe: Red velvet whoopie pies

Leave a comment