Daily Photo / Holiday / Recipes

Recipe: Chocolate-dipped shortbread cookies

Christmas is tomorrow! Where did December go?!

The holidays sure make time go by way too fast — so if you need a quick and easy grab bag for work or even a small get together, these chocolate-dipped shortbread cookies are the right way to go!

Prepping my chocolate-dipping work station, followed by my grab bags, already set up.

Dipping your shortbread cookies in chocolate just goes the extra mile and will really make your gift stand out — even if you make your shortbread from a box. And if you want to be even more festive… I didn’t stop at putting my cookies in bags… I put the bags in stockings!

Some might call it overkill…but everyone I gave one to at work thought it was the cutest thing. Personally, I think the little things like presentation go a long way.

Shortbread cookies hot out of the oven!

Now the Betty Crocker shortbread mix I used is from Safeway… a baker’s dream I tell you. But you can go ahead and use your own shortbread recipe, and any method of cutting out your Christmas shapes. I recently picked up this adorable Christmas cookie tin from Executive Chef, and I love it!

Things you’ll need: cookie cut-outs/baking tin, shortbread mix, and chocolate or white chocolate morsels.

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 325 degrees (this is if you’re using a dark baking tin, like me. Otherwise you’re good at 350)
  2. Mix your ingredients together to form your dough
  3. Place your dough inside your cookie tin / roll cookie dough out and cut out shapes
  4. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until edges are golden brown

Yummy white-chocolate dipped shortbread cookies!

Now once your cookies are cool, all you have to do is dip them in chocolate! Then put them in the fridge to let the chocolate harden. If you’ve never melted chocolate before, no need to panic! You don’t need a broiler, just a pot of hot water and a small bowl that will fit right on top. I have an easy step-by-step guide you can follow here.

Don’t forget to add the holiday sprinkles!

These are sure to be a hit. Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a Reply

