Daily Photo / Holiday / Recipes

Recipe: Pumpkin whoopie pies

A batch of pumpkin whoopie pies I took to work.

A batch of pumpkin whoopie pies I took to work.

So I made these for Thanksgiving…because, pumpkin anything is a winner in my book. The most common question I got after an exclamation of delight from every co-worker was: “what are they?”

When I explained that they’re called “whoopie pies,” I got my fair share of strange looks. Let me explain: whoopie pies are made from two pieces of a cake-like pastry with frosting sandwiched between them.

In this case, I made a pumpkin flavored pie with cream cheese frosting.

Where the magic happens.

Where the magic happens.

Scooping out the dough onto a baking tray.

Scooping out the dough onto a baking tray.

Here’s where I found the recipe, but I made a few adjustments:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. First start with your wet ingredients in a large mixing bowl: add 1 stick of butter and 1 cup of sugar. Beat that together with a mixer on medium speed. Once it’s mixed together and smooth for the most part depending on how soft your butter was, add 1 cup of Libby’s 100% pure pumpkin mix, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract,Β then mix in two eggs. Beat this mixture until smooth.
  3. Now add in dry ingredients: 2 cups flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp salt.
  4. Mix together with a spoon so that your dough starts to take shape.
  5. Place dough on greased baking sheet by the large tsp.Β *this is because whoopie pies are typically small and bite size
  6. Bake for about 13 minutes.
It took all my will power not to eat it all by itself.

It took all my will power not to eat it all by itself.

Now while your batches are baking…you can go ahead and make your cream cheese frosting!

  1. In another large mixing bowl: add 4 oz cream cheese, 6 oz butter, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Mix together until smooth, then add 1 and 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. Beat this together until soft and creamy.
  2. Essential step: taste test.

It’s dangerous making your own frosting. Scratch that. Having frosting in the house, homemade or bought, is dangerous.

Now all that’s left to do is assemble! Slather some frosting on one mini pie, and attach it to another and you’re on your way to a perfect batch.

Ta-da! Ready to eat!

Ta-da! Ready to eat!

The original recipe I used says you should end up with 36 small pies. I actually screwed up my first batch and scooped out too much dough so I got big cookies. These taste just as good with some frosting on top, but I ended up halving them and putting frosting in between.

These are great for a light dessert or even a quick snack. People love them. They were a hit at work, and Jake couldn’t stop eating them.

A perfect simple recipe if you need something for a Thanksgiving or holiday party! Happy baking!

What are your favorite holiday dishes? Better yet…your favorite pumpkin dishes?

Leave a Reply

