Daily / Top Monthly Posts

Month in Review: Top 3 August Posts

August has been about enjoying what’s left of summer. It’s been about going to brunch, going on adventures up mountains and down into tide pools.

Sometimes I get bored because I think that I must have done everything on this little island, but this month I’ve realized I couldn’t possibly have seen all the great thing this place has to offer. All you need to do is open your eyes and explore a little.

So with that being said, exploring new brunch places is always a good thing in my book — and those topped Brickberry’s stats this month, along with another exciting event. Take a look:

3) Happy Birthday, Brickberry!

Brickberry turned one year old this month! I’ve never been able to keep a blog alive for this long. Maybe the closest I ever got was my old Tumblr, whose content was no where close to being this good. I’ve grown so much while being committed to creating good, original content for this blog, and it’s really starting to come into its own. I couldn’t be more proud.

Thank you all for reading. I hope you enjoy these posts as much as I enjoy writing them. Here’s to many more happy years!

Cornflake French Toast

Cornflake French Toast from Koko Head Cafe.

2) Review: Koko Head Cafe

Koko Head Cafe has some of the yummiest brunch dishes in town, and it’s quickly becoming one of my top suggestions for those looking for a unique dining experience. Just head on over to Kaimuki and look for their bright yellow awning (and the crowd of people out front).

And for some reason if the menu isn’t all that intriguing to you (and why wouldn’t it?), you might be interested to know that its a cafe brought to you by Food Network star Chef Lee Anne Wong!

But just trust me on this: You need to try the cornflake french toast. Make sure at least one person in your party orders it so everyone else can steal a bite. Click through to see more of what they have to offer!

Chicken and waffles from the Nook Neighborhood Bistro.

1) The Nook Neighborhood Bistro

I know college just started for most people, so if you’re a student at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, you’ll be happy to hear that this cute little brunch joint is right down the street. With daily muffin and scone specials, it’s a place that could very well be “your new morning habit.”

When I talk to people who’ve eaten here, they rave about the mochi waffles. I have yet to try them, but they’re at the top of my list to try the next time we stop by,

Click through to see what Jake and I tried!

Leave a Reply

