Daily

Happy Birthday, Brickberry!

Yesterday was the primary election and like a horrible parent, I neglected my child’s birthday. Brickberry is officially one year old! I’ve been looking forward to this all week, but with two major storms heading for Hawaii and an election in between, it’s been a rough week.

This is the longest time I’ve ever kept a blog alive, and the most I’ve ever cared about one and the content I’m creating. I just wanted to take a second and thank the people who follow this blog and read what I have to say here.

Brickberry was founded on August 9th, 2013. Eager for a creative outlet in my life, yet never finding the time to sit down and start, it took spending $50 on groceries and needing a place to vent to motivate me.

I started Brickberry while I was working three jobs as a way to document the happy moments in my life. Believe me, the days were long and stressful, and I was working seven days a week. This blog helpedΒ remind me of all the good things in my life. (And gave me a place to complain about how adulthood sucks.)

Since then, Brickberry has evolved into a cookbook, a travel journal, and most importantly a place to document all the things to do in Hawaii — from being a social calendar of events, to showcasing the best restaurants and hikes, and even pointing out the must-see spots if you’re visiting. It’s a blog where both locals and visitors will end up taking something valuable away.

I am so proud of how much I’ve grown and how much Brickberry has grown since it’s creation, and I hope it continues to evolve as I do. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

Happy Birthday, Brickberry!

Leave a Reply

