Daily Photo / Recipes

Recipe: Penne with Roasted Eggplant and Mushrooms

Example of some good mushrooms.

It has definitely been a long time since I posted a recipe! Ever since my schedule changed at work I haven’t had the time to be as creative in the kitchen as I used to be. I try to keep the food I eat for dinner at work interesting, and that’s what this recipe aims to do. But it’s also great for an easy weeknight meal at home!

But before I get into the recipe: Do you guys know how to pick mushrooms? The other morning I was at the grocery store when I just plucked two off the shelves the first time I made this recipe — and let me tell you, that did not end well. I picked some bad mushrooms. So just in case, here are some pearls of wisdom:

Mom’s advice on how to pick mushrooms:Β 

  1. Buy if it’s white. If it’s starting to brown, pass on it.
  2. Should be closed around the stem so that no brown is showing.
  3. Most individual mushrooms in the the vegetable section are bad already. Safer to buy sealed packs.

Slice and lay out your eggplant on a greased, foil-lined tray.

Final roasted eggplant.

Here’s what you’ll need: Penne pasta, 2 medium eggplants, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1 – 2 cup chopped mushrooms, 1 cup prepared marinara sauce, cooking spray, 1 tbsp rosemary, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese.

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  • Cook pasta according to package directions.
  • Cut eggplant into 1/2-inch rounds, then slice in half (Yeah, I’m still obsessed with my mandolin, and I’m still using it.) Spray bottoms with cooking spray before placing on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for 15 minutes or until tender, then place eggplant on paper towels.
  • Heat oil in pan over medium-high heat. Add garlic, rosemary, chopped mushrooms, and cook for 2 – 3 minutes. Stir in marinara sauce and eggplant. Add salt and pepper.
  • Toss pasta with eggplant sauce and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese.

I know it’s not the most appetizing final meal picture, but this is just how my life looks right now: It’s full of tupperware and microwaves for future heating since I have a dinner break instead of a lunch break. That’s the thing I miss most about a semi-normal schedule — fresh, hot dinners.

But regardless of when you eat it, this is a great recipe and it’s a super simple. If you’re an eggplant or mushroom fan, you are gonna love it! Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

