Daily Photo / Holiday

A new holiday tradition: Angel Tree gifts

The table of angels you can pick from at Kahala Mall.

I’ve never been a particularly charitable person. I didn’t grow up doing community service or anything like that. My life is and has been pretty me-centered.

I think a part of getting older is realizing a bigger picture. Thanksgiving becomes more and more special to me each year because I keep realizing how quick and fragile life is. Growing up, the holiday was always just a hurdle to get to presents — I mean, Christmas.

Sean is back from college for Winter break, and I couldn’t be happier to have our family back together for the holidays. We’re lucky enough to have each other, plus anything else we could ever want. So to give something to people who can’t have that extra holiday magic… that sounds pretty cool.

My family, picking the senior from the Angel Tree we bought a 10 cup rice cooker for.

Giving the gifts to the Salvation Army representatives.

Giving the gifts to the Salvation Army representatives.

So I wanted to give more somehow as I ran around finishing off my Christmas shopping (I’m still not done…). To do that this year, my family and I picked three angels (two children, and one senior) off the Salvation Army Angel Trees, and hopefully made some people’s Christmas brighter.

Angel Trees are located in smaller malls around Oahu — like Pearlridge and Kahala, or you can also find them at Central Pacific Bank branches.

I personally plan to make this a new yearly holiday tradition. If you’d like to learn more about Angel Trees and how to help a needy senior or child, Hawaii News Now has a great piece on it here.

One thought on “A new holiday tradition: Angel Tree gifts

Leave a Reply

