Daily Photo / Holiday / Recipes

Recipe: Peppermint bark brownies

The number of days until Christmas are slipping right through my fingers… And as Christmas gets ever closer, that means so do the holiday parties.

The marketing department at the TV station I work at is having what we dubbed this year’s “Cool Yule Potluck,” complete with white elephant. Aside from the fact that I bought the coolest white elephant present, I’m also bringing a yummy homemade dessert to the party.

The finished product: peppermint bark brownies!

The finished product: peppermint bark brownies!

Behold, peppermint bark brownies! I’ve never made my own peppermint bark before because I have never worked with chocolate or melting chocolate before — but it isn’t hard at all actually! This is a simple and delicious recipe sure to get you and your friends in the holiday spirit.

Normally brownies are baked in a sheet — but because I didn’t want to cut through the bark and get weird cuts, I chose to bake individual cupcake brownies, then add the chocolate to make the bark on each individually.

The brownies, pre-white chocolate bark.

The brownies, pre-white chocolate bark.

What you’ll need:Β your brownie recipe or choice of brownie mix, white chocolate, and peppermint candy.

Directions:Β 

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees
  • Whip up your brownie mix (mine called for two eggs and 1/2 cup of oil)
  • Bake your brownie cupcakes for about 28 minutes

Once your brownies are done and cooling, you can go ahead and start melting your chocolate (caution: if you do it too early, your chocolate will harden again. Work fast!)

  • Spoon melted chocolate onto your cooled brownies
  • Crush up some peppermint candy or candy canes and add the pieces as topping to each brownie
My makeshift broiler: a pot and a bowl that fits inside.

My makeshift broiler: a pot and a bowl that fits inside.

Quick instructions on how to melt chocolate:Β 

While trying to learn how to learn how to melt the white chocolate chip morsels I bought, I kept seeing that a broiler was the preferred way to melt them. Burning the whole batch in the microwave was not an option, so I called my mom for support and asked her how to make a makeshift broiler — as I, a 22-year-old working girl, definitely do not have one.

To make a makeshift broiler, all you need is a pot and a bowl that fits neatly into it. Make sure the water in the pot does not touch the bowl of chocolate chips. Let the water simmer, as it doesn’t take a lot of heat for your chocolate to melt and you don’t want to burn it.

Once it looks like it’s melting and there are still some lumps of chocolate inside, you can go ahead and take the bowl off the pot and out of the heat because as you mix it, the lingering heat should melt the rest.

Crush up some peppermint or candy canes to add to your chocolate bark

Crush up some peppermint or candy canes to add to your chocolate bark

Hopefully you’re not intimidated after reading through the process. I was intimidated at first because of the chocolate melting, but once I saw it melting, everything just came together and I ended up with some very yummy treats. Just ask Jake, my little baking guinea pig.

I have a whole lot more baking planned for this holiday season! Stay tuned for more recipes… but in the meanwhile I’d love to hear yours! Post them in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Peppermint bark brownies

Leave a Reply

