Daily Photo / Recipes

Recipe: Berry breakfast smoothie

I know I’m usually all about “chugging your greens” when it comes to smoothies, but sometimes you just gotta give yourself a break.

I’ve never used orange juice in a smoothie before, so I was a bit skeptical, but let me tell you, this berry smoothie is by far the yummiest I have ever made. (Don’t get me wrong my pineapple kale love, but this one doesn’t have any vegetables in it.)

DSC_0132

Here’s what you’ll need: a container of your favorite berry (or a mix), orange juice, vanilla or plain yogurt, and a banana. For best results, freeze your fruit before you proceed!

Instructions:

  1. Add 1/2 cup of orange juice.
  2. Add your yogurt (I used a whole yoplait container)
  3. Add 1 cup of berries (I used about six strawberries and a handful of raspberries)
  4. Add 1 banana
  5. Mix and enjoy!
DSC_0133

FYI, I hope everyone knows those strawberries aren’t going bad, but are white from freezer frost — haha.

Super simple, hardly any prep time at all, unlike chopping up a whole pineapple. If you use strawberries, they don’t overpower this recipe, which is great, because to me the strawberry flavor alone is so boring. It also has this great, fresh smell.

It’s a great way to start your morning! Hope you like it! To read about all things smoothie related, including my many smoothie concoctions, click here!

Leave a Reply

