Reviews

Review: Gravity (2013)

I don’t know about you, but over the months I had seen the evolution of the GravityΒ (2013) preview, and I was pretty underwhelmed. Quite frankly I didn’t care. (You think I’m heartless, don’t you?)

Sandra Bullock, spinning alone in space — frantically breathing.

Okay. Sorry, Sandra, but I don’t know who you are or why you’re floating in space. That really sucks, but I can’t just go around handing over all of my emotions to every sob story I see. You gotta earn that.

Boy, did she earn it, folks.

I saw the movie in 3D with Jake Saturday night and it was an emotional ride. I found myself holding my breath a number of times. It was just a series of events that had you on the edge of your seat the whole time. And the ending? Don’t even get me started.

Something that Jake and I both found amazing is how Bullock was able to hold her own throughout most of the movie and thus was able to captivate the audience with her realistic performance. She made us care about her without any real motivation as a character (through extraneous relationships). All she wanted to do was stay alive. And I was rooting for her the whole way.

I mean what monster would root against her. What I’m saying is that I really cared — it wasn’t like she was going along this mission and I was bored, waiting. I was actively rooting. And I can’t even say why. In the short amount of time we get to really know about her character (and we hardly do), she makes the most of it and you end up on her side.

ISS007-E-7304

All I can say is, it’s a great movie. And according to this Mashable article, it’s pretty scientifically on point. So is the acting, as well as the visuals. I can’t say I’ve ever wanted to go to space (never ever, now having seen this movie), but that view, man. It sure looks beautiful up there looking down at Earth.

Leave a Reply

