Daily Photo / Recipes

Recipe: Kale with banana, kiwi, and star fruit smoothie

Here are all the ingredients laid out for you.

Here are all the ingredients laid out for you.

Something I love about Hawaii is this neighborly communal fruit sharing system there seems to be. Co-workers will bring the fruits from the trees in their backyard to share, some people like a woman in my neighborhood will stand on our corner with a sign that says “Free papayas,” and recently she’s started giving away star fruit.

There’s even boxes of fruit some places laying around where you can exchange something for a piece of fruit — and people for the most part participate in this equal exchange process without any supervision.

My mom gave me some star fruit the other day, and that's what this smoothie was an attempt to pay tribute to. That and the fact that I am a kiwi peeling master.

My mom gave me some star fruit the other day, and that’s what this smoothie was an attempt to pay tribute to. That and the fact that I am a kiwi peeling master.

Here’s what you’ll need: two kiwis, two star fruits, coconut milk. 3-4 leaves of kale (my leaves are small, you basically need 2 big leaves), and a banana.

The star fruit you don’t need to peel — you can eat it whole. So slice off those ends and you’re good! But here’s my trick on how to get your kiwi out of its skin quick and easy: slice off both ends with a sharp knife, then using your knife cut a slit straight down the skin of your kiwi. Now you can take a spoon and insert it between the kiwi fruit and its skin and let your hand and spoon do the work as you make a scooping motion, separating the two parts.

You’ll end up with a circular kiwi skin shell and a perfectly skinless kiwi.

Instructions:

  1. Add 1 cup of coconut milk
  2. Add 2 cups of chopped kale
  3. Add sliced kiwis, star fruit, and banana
  4. Add a cup or ice, or I always put in 6 ice cubes
  5. Blend!

This smoothie smells great. However, there is a strong kale after taste, so I recommend having your fruit as ripe as possible to counteract that. Hope you enjoy! Let me know if you’ve tried a smoothie recipe with star fruit or any of the other ingredients!

To read about all things smoothie related on my blog, you can click here.

Leave a Reply

