Daily Photo / Recipes

Recipe: Kale smoothie with papaya and banana

20130826-084952.jpg

Now, this smoothie is pretty gnarly in color — I’m not gonna lie. But, it’s pretty good once you get past that, I swear!

Believe it or not, I feel like I have been more energized lately now that I’ve been drinking smoothies pretty much daily this week. It’s an interesting alternative to caffeine that I daresay may even work better.

My second green smoothie attempt is this: a kale smoothie with papaya and banana. I know papayas are good for you, and so is kale, so I’m thinking this must be a powerhouse of nutrition. And I know my body needs it.

Here’s what you’ll need: two leaves of kale, 1 papaya, 1 banana, and coconut milk. This will make about 2 servings.

Directions:

  • Add 1/2 cup of water
  • Add 1/2 cup of coconut milk
  • Add 1 and 1/2 cup of papaya (that’s about 1 regular sized papaya I found)
  • Add 1 banana
  • Add 1/2 cup of ice (or 1 cup, depending on the consistency you’d like)

And there you have it! You can really taste the papaya once you’re done.

Other smoothie recipes:

Kale smoothie with pineapple and banana

Leave a Reply

