Daily / How To

How to: prepare for little brother leaving for college

A photo I took of my brother while he was helping me move out of my parents’ house.

You can’t.

Now that you know it’s completely impossible for you to prepare yourself for this emotional goodbye, let me tell you about me and my brother: we’re close.

One of the saddest moments of my life was saying goodbye to him the day I moved out. Before we hugged, he walked down our hallway and said he “needed to put on deodorant,” but when he came back I saw it was an excuse to try and hide his tear-stained face.

I remember going with my mom to drop him off at his first day of kindergarten and she and I both started crying.

In the weeks leading up to Sean’s imminent departure we’ve causally brought up the subject only to end up in tears.

Keep us AWAY from each other. We will make you SAD.

I opted out of the trip to take him to college and get him settled in because I know I will not be able to stop crying.

My parents are even going to Vegas after to lick their wounds because both of their babies have left the nest.

I gave up VEGAS, guys. That’s how sad it is.

In all seriousness though, I couldn’t be prouder. I always knew he’s been on the path to do great things, and this is just one step closer in the right direction.

I’m going to miss him so much.

Leave a Reply

