Daily Photo / Recipes

Recipe: Bacon-wrapped jalapeno chicken

I am a novice at best in the kitchen. The thing I find hardest? Thinking ahead. I also tend to panic when oil splashes me, but that is another story…

While perusing Pinterest, I found this recipe for bacon-wrapped jalapeno chicken. Who would love this, I wondered? Everyone who has a mouth, duh.

My last attempt at chicken left it very dry, but edible. So I was a little nervous going into prep.

The things you need are these:

  • chicken breasts (I used two, was able to cut them into long strips so that each yielded 4, leaving you with 8 strips total)
  • cream cheese
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 8 strips of bacon

Jake worked on chopping and de-seeding the jalapeno while I pounded the chicken flat with a hammer (over saran wrap, of course). A seed got on his hand and he said it burned right away, so be careful. We then portioned the chicken, spread 1/2 tsp of cream cheese on each, sprinkled on the jalapenos bits, then folded each chicken strip in half.

Then you wrap each in bacon, and fry in a pan/grill until the bacon is crisp and brown. Be sure to check your chicken by cutting it in half to see if there’s any pink left — or use a meat thermometer to see if it’s at 160 degrees.

I’m delighted to say it turned out deliciously.

Check out more recipes I’m dying to try on my Pinterest board: Cookbook

Leave a Reply

